Tag Archives: databases

Bookflix for kids now available!

Bookflix is now available to you through the Power Library, with exciting and educational videos for kids! Click the link below to access the service-

CLICK HERE

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

“Trial” databases available this month!

EBSCO_Logo

The Library System is trying out some new research databases this month.  Try these out and post a “Comment” below if you have an opinion as to whether the System should purchase these for the future!  (you will be asked to supply your library card number and last name when you click the links below.)

EBSCO MasterFile Premier

EBSCO Biography Reference Center

EBSCO Literary ReferenceCenter Plus

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Library e-books now available for the Kindle!

You can now get free books for your Kindle with your library card!

Go to http://digitallibrary.delcolibraries.org/ to see what is available.

Click here for more information from Amazon

Kindle picture

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Free Genealogy Resources Program!

AncestryLibrary logo

Please join us at the Aston Library on Saturday, May 14th, 2011 at 1PM to learn about premium online genealogy resources that you can use for free, thanks to county and state funding. Helen Subbio, Information Services Coordinator for the Delaware County Library System, will introduce AncestryLibrary and Heritage Quest, part of the Power Library Plus database collection. She will also provide leads to other reliable websites and local genealogical centers, along with an overview of how to start genealogical research.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Learn how to get free library e-books on your e-book reader!

Do you have an e-book reader? Did you know that the Library System offers free e-books?

To help you understand the process of downloading free ebooks to your reader, the Delaware County Library System has scheduled a training session here at the Aston Library on using the service. The session will focus on the Barnes & Noble Nook and the Apple iPad. The process is similar on other ebook readers. Unfortunately, Amazon’s proprietary Kindle is not compatible with the library’s service.

The training session will be held on Tuesday, March 8 at 7:00 p.m.

Space is limited and registration is required. Go to

http://tinyurl.com/astoncompclasses

to sign up!

ebookbanner

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Test out Consumers’ CHECKBOOK online for free!

Checkbook logo
For a limited time only, you can check out a free database of local customer reviews and information.

Delaware Valley Consumers’ CHECKBOOK Magazine contains informative articles and ratings on a wide variety of local service firms, professionals, and stores. CHECKBOOK helps consumers make the right choices when it comes to nearly every type of service, from plumbers and heating and air conditioning contractors, to auto repair shops and even dentists and doctors.

To test it out, go to:

www.CHECKBOOK.org

and use

Username: libtrial10465
Password: 4960

Good until 1/31/11

If you test it out, please comment below and let us know what you think, and we will pass your comments onto the County Library System regarding possibly getting this database.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Mango Day!

Mango image
Wednesday, December 1 is Mango Day, celebrating the Mango for Languages service available to library cardholders.  Stop by our library to get information about the service, and enjoy some of the refreshments while you are here!

Mango Languages is an  online, interactive language teaching system.  Twenty-two foreign-language and 15 English as a Second Language (ESL) courses are included in the system.

This is the list of languages for English-speakers at this point:
Arabic (Levantine)
Chinese (Mandarin)
Dari
Farsi (Persian)
French
German
Greek
Hebrew
Hindi
Irish
Italian
Japanese
Korean
Pashto
Portuguese (Brazil)
Russian
Spanish (Latin America)
Tagalog
Thai
Turkish
Urdu
Vietnamese

All for free with your library card!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized